Anitta, Nacho Arimany, Diego "El Negro" Álvarez, Ismael Fernández, Siudy Garrido, Manuel Medrano, Jesús Montoya, and José Antonio Rodríguez join the 2017 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year gala honoring Alejandro Sanz

November 13, 2017 -- 1:30 pm PST

The star-studded tribute will take place at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center
on Wednesday, November 15

Proceeds from the concert and gala will benefit The Latin GRAMMY Cultural Foundation®

MIAMI (Nov. 13, 2017)The Latin Recording Academy® today announced additional artists who are confirmed to perform at the 2017 Latin Recording AcademyPerson of the Year™ Gala honoring Alejandro Sanz, including Anitta, percussionists Nacho Arimany and Diego "El Negro" Álvarez, dancer Ismael Fernández, Siudy Garrido, Manuel Medrano, Jesús Montoya and guitarist José Antonio Rodríguez.

They join a previously announced group that includes David Bisbal, Camila Cabello, Santiago Cruz, Alejandro Fernández, Luis Fonsi, Juan Luis Guerra,  Jesse & Joy, Juanes, Mon Laferte, Natalia Lafourcade,  Gian Marco, Manuel Fernández Montoya "El Carpeta"; Niña Pastori, Residente, Rosalía, and Jimmy Zambrano. 

The 2017 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year Gala will honor 18-time Latin GRAMMY® and three-time GRAMMY® winner, Alejandro Sanz for his artistry and philanthropic contributions to organizations such as Doctors without Borders, Save the Children and Greenpeace. It will be held at a sold-out gala on Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2017 at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center in Las Vegas. The event precedes the 18th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards®, airing Thursday, Nov. 16, 2017, 8–11 p.m. ET/PT (7 p.m. Central), live on Univision from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The Latin Person of the Year award is bestowed upon musicians as a recognition of their artistic achievements in the  music industry, and for their commitment to philanthropy. Past honorees include Marc Anthony, Miguel Bosé, Roberto Carlos, Plácido Domingo, Emilio Estefan, Gloria Estefan, Vicente Fernández, Juan Gabriel, Gilberto Gil, Juan Luis Guerra, Julio Iglesias, José José, Carlos Santana, Joan Manuel Serrat, Shakira, Ricky Martin, and Caetano Veloso.

Three-time GRAMMY and nine-time Latin GRAMMY winner Rafa Sardina will be the executive producer of the Latin Person of the Year Gala.

The net proceeds from the gala will go towards supporting the charitable work of the Latin GRAMMY Cultural Foundation® whose mission is to further international awareness and appreciation of the significant contributions of Latin music and its makers to the world’s culture through scholarships, fellowships, grants, and educational programs. 

#  #  #

MEDIA CONTACTS:               

The Lippin Group on behalf of  The Latin Recording Academy:

Jennifer Price, Elina Adut, Freddy Morales


The Latin Recording Academy:

Iveliesse Malavé


Teresa Romo